19 calories in an entire cup of rashishes

Sometimes when I go to one of those supermarkets known for having really good produce, I stock up on WAY too many fruits and vegetables. My family goes through the fruit at a pretty quick pace (though I currently have a bowl of oranges that nobody is touching and I am not sure why…)

The vegetables though, are a much harder sell, and I don’t always have time to prpare the masterpieces that I am planning when I pick them out. So, I found myself with a bag of forgotten radishes. I actually really enjoy radishes, especially when they are super fresh. They can taste so crisp and almost peppery, and I like them best in my salads. Though, sliced up they also make for a very good dipping tool. You can also add them to sandwiches and stir fry dishes.

Unfortunately, I felt my radishes had spent a little too much time in the refrigerator, but I didn’t want to throw them out. In the past, I have sauteed radishes, with very good results, but, I really wanted to do something quick. Japanese pickles came to mind. So, I cubed them, and tossed them into water that I already had boiling, just for a few minutes, and then threw them in a bowl with a couple of tablespoons of red wine vinegar, a little bit of olive oil, red chile pepper flakes and a dash of salt and put the bowl in the fridge for later. While olive oil is not really Japanese, it definitely added to the mouthfeel of the final product. We ended up throwing the “pickles” in a salad, and they definitely added that sour/crunchy element, of which I am a big fan.

But, here’s the really good news about radishes. 1 cup of sliced radishes has about 19 calories. In terms of vitamins and minerals, they are not highest on the list, but, this amout would give you a decent amount of potassium (270 mg), a good amount of vitamin C (17 mg), and definitely contributes to your amount of B vitamins for the day.

I keep mentioning potassium because the recommended daily intake is a very lofty 4700 mg per day for most healthy adults over the age of 14 years. The reason for this very high recommendation is that this amount of potassium obtained through the diet, has been associated with decreased risk of stroke, hypertension, osteoporosis, and kidney stones.

The recommended daily intake of Vitamin C is 90 mg/day for men, and 75mg/day for women >19 years of age. All of this nutrient reference info is readily available at the USDA’s website.

Finally, as is the case with many vegetables, they have a lot of water. 1 cup of sliced radishes has roughly 1/2 cup of water in it, and the water in food does in fact contribute to your water intake for the day.

So, next time you are in the supermarket or farmer’s market, try some radishes. Here are 5 ways you can use them:

1. Whole – make sure you clean them off, and then dip them in whatever your favorite is, or just eat them with a bit of salt

2. Sauteed – same as any other veggie, and to your desired doneness

3. Pickled – can use my method, or use rice vinegar instead and add in some other veggies like onions and cucumbers

4.  Sliced – makes any sandwich much more elegant

5.  Stir fry – thinly slice and add in with your favorites

