Doble Chocolate Biscotti

Double Chocolate Biscotti

I talk a lot on my blog about drinking coffee, and I have to admit I do like to dunk things in my coffee every now and again. Sometimes, when I am in Starbucks I am so tempted to buy those biscotti they have at the counter wrapped in plastic, to dunk in my coffee of course.

I don’t buy them though because I know biscotti are relatively easy to make, and when you make them yourself, you can make them as low fat and/or low calorie as you like.

This weekend I adapted a recipe which originally appeared in Cooking Light, December 2008. They will definitely satisfy your chocolate cravings. I changed a few things:

  1. Replaced the white flour with whole wheat flour (increases fiber, lowers the calories)
  2. Used half the amount of sugar, and used brown sugar instead of white sugar (less calories, tastes better)
  3. Added 1/4 cup dried tart cherries and zest of one orange (adds fragrance and texture)
  4. Added some oil and milk to compensate for the dryness of the whole wheat flour (if you don’t want to use oil, you could use yogurt or applesauce, just to add more moisture)
Here’s the recipe with the above-mentioned adaptations

Double Chocolate and Tart Cherry Biscotti

Yield

3 dozen (serving size: 2 biscotti)

Ingredients

  • 6.75  ounces  whole wheat flour (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/2  cup  sugar
  • 1/2  cup  unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2  cup  semisweet chocolate minichips
  • 1/4 cup dried tart montmorency cherries (chopped)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • Zest of one orange
  • 2  large eggs
  • 1  large egg white
  • 2 tablespoons milk (if necessary)
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil (if necessary)
  • Cooking spray

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 7 ingredients (through salt) in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Combine vanilla, zest, eggs, and egg white in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add flour mixture to egg mixture; stir until well blended. If dough is too dry, add two tablespoons of skim milk and/or canola oil. Divide dough in half. Turn dough out onto a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. With floured hands, shape each dough half into a 12-inch-long roll; pat to 1/2-inch thickness.

3. Bake at 350° for 22 minutes. Remove rolls from baking sheet; cool 10 minutes on a wire rack. Cut each roll diagonally into 18 (1/2-inch) slices. Carefully stand slices upright on baking sheet. Bake biscotti an additional 15 minutes or until almost firm (biscotti will be slightly soft in center but will harden as they cool). Remove biscotti from baking sheet; cool completely on wire rack.

Cooking Tip:

Use parchment paper to line the baking sheet, it will prevent the biscotti from burning and it keeps the pan clean.

Nutritional Information Per Serving

Calories: 107
Fat: 3 g (sat 1g, mono 1.2 g, poly 0.32 g)
Protein: 2.8 g
Carbohydrate: 18 g
Fiber: 1.2 g
Cholesterol: 24mg
Sodium: 125mg
While my changes did not change the original nutrition information too dramatically, I prefer to use less sugar whenever possible. And in this case, I was able to add some antioxidants to the mix, as well as some additional mono- and polyunsaturated fatty acids.
To cut even more calories you could use a sugar substitute, and use egg whites instead of the whole eggs. When I make these again, I will probably add some nuts as well because I like a little crunch in my biscotti.
