Fast and Healthy Chicken Salad

Fast and Healthy Chicken Salad

Sometimes, I let myself get too hungry and then I’m tearing through the kitchen looking for a quick lunch option.

Usually, I make a smoked trout sandwich (I swear it’s tasty, and definitely should be the subject of another post), but, I try to mix it up every now and then.

So, today I had some leftover boneless, skinless chicken thighs and all of a sudden a chicken salad seemed like the quickest, easiest and healthiest lunch option. Here’s what I used:

~ 4 ounces cooked boneless, skinless chicken thighs

2 stalks of celery

1/4 red onion

1/2 handful chopped raisins

1-2 tablespoons Bone Suckin’ Mustard

2 slices of your favorite bread (I used Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Panne)

The ultimate in tasty mustard

The ultimate in tasty mustard

Basically, I diced everything up and threw it into a bowl. Then I added the  tablespoon(s) of the Bone Suckin’ Mustard and mixed it all together. This mustard is so well seasoned that I didn’t need to add anything else and it was SO tasty. It has very simple ingredients:

Distilled Vinegar, Water, #1 Grade Mustard Seed, Brown Sugar, Molasses, Jalapeno Peppers, Cornstarch, Turmeric, Paprika, Spices, Garlic Powder & Natural Flavor.

I have to add, this mustard is good on just about anything. I’ve used it to make a dressing, it’s good on burgers, salads, you name it. I have also been tempted to eat it straight out of the jar.

If I had more time, I would have used some carrots and maybe some chopped nuts. What’s your favorite chicken salad addition?

