Image

Easy, high fiber side dish

In an effort to maximize my day off yesterday, I thought I would “make” a side dish for my sister’s BBQ while I was also enjoying some outside activities.

I have been on a bit of a lentil bender lately, so I thought I would use the French Green Lentils I had on hand to make a side dish. French Green Lentils keep their shape and texture a bit better than some of the other lentil options, so I figured they would travel well and pair with whatever BBQ options awaited us.

In a slow cooker I threw:

1 cup of dried french green lentils

2 cups of vegetable stock

I left these on high for awhile (maybe 1 1/2 hours), and then I added:

1 medium red onion (chopped)

1/2 red pepper chopped

Juice of 1 lemon

Dash of salt

Chopped fresh herbs (Savory, thyme, sage, basil, chives)

I stirred these together and let them sit another 45 minutes or so (long enough to take a shower and get ready)

To finish them off, I added a splash of ponzu, red wine vinegar, white pepper, cumin and Spanish smoked paprika.

I did heat them up once we got to the party and they definitely held their shape and the flavors get a chance to mix further.

This dish is a nice alternative to the typical higher fat, low nutrition BBQ dishes. Plus, lentils are loaded with satisfying fiber and protein and low in calories, you can’t go wrong!

