High in fiber and satisfaction, low in salt and calories

The problem with most processed dips is that they pack a lot of salt into a small serving size. For example, Frito Lay Black Bean Dip has 200 mg sodium per 2 tablespoons and Desert Pepper Black Bean Dip has 300 mg for the same amount. I don’t know about you, but, I am not likely to stop at 2 tablespoons, so, I try to make my own whenever possible.

For this recipe, I started with a 1/2 bag of uncooked black beans (8 oz). The beans have no sodium whatsoever, so I am able to add my own salt and seasonings to taste. It does take some time to bring the beans to the desired consistency (follow package directions), but at less than $1.50 a bag, it’s well worth a little extra time. (I did set aside some of the black beans to make black bean burgers at another time)

In my Cuisinart, I combined the pre-cooked black beans, 1/2 an onion, several fresh herbs (especially cilantro), a turn of olive oil, juice of one lime, some cumin, garlic powder and smoked paprika.

I pulsed the mixture maybe 7-8 times. At that point, I tasted the dip, and while the texture was good, it clearly needed a bit of salt to bring the flavors together. I threw in a couple of dashes of salt, but, definitely no more than 1/8 teaspoon for the entire recipe.

According to my calculations, the recipe yields 12 servings of 2 tbsp each. Each serving is ~45 calories, 27 mg sodium. If you want to make this dip even lower in calorie, you could decrease the olive oil or omit it altogether.

What’s your favorite homemade dip to make this summer?

 

