I’ll just come out and say it, I always wanted the Snoopy Snow Cone machine when I was a kid. Not sure why we never got one, but, that jingle has lived on in my head for over 20 years now (“you put ice cubes in and get a snow cone out…”).

My own children don’t really know of the Snoopy Snow Cone machine, but, they are aware and covetous of sweet, icy drinks/desserts that one can make at home with any number of sugar-laden syrups that seem to rear their frightening heads around this time of year.

Tonight, I decided I would try my hand at the “Snow Cone.”

First, I tried to make a shaved ice using my 6-sided grater.

Umm, “Fail.” Far too cold on the hand to pursue, and the ice just wasn’t coming together in that “shaved ice” kinda way.

Then, I had the idea to use the meat tenderizer to break up the ice, this method can definitely work. If you have some Ziploc bags, you are golden. I didn’t, so I used Saran Wrap, which ended up exploding…But, ultimately I turned to the Krups Speedy Pro 720, which is a good pulverizer for small jobs. So the recipe that produced the “snow cone” you see above is:

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup orange juice

~ 6 ice cubes

a dash of fresh lime juice or sweet and sour mix

Combine the berries and juice first in the mixer, then add plenty of ice. Finally, a squeeze of lime juice to tart it up a bit.

Whole recipe weighs in at a whopping 80 calories (yield about two servings).

Easy. Cheap. Healthy.

What’s your favorite low calorie dessert this summer?

