I do love me a good food controversy, and, as usually happens after a trip to the supermarket, I should have seen this one coming. I am an avid fan of Greek yogurt, my kids love it and I recommend it constantly as a high protein breakfast/snack (23 grams of protein in an 8 ounce serving).

Anyhow, I was looking to save a few $$$ on Greek yogurt on my last trip to the food store and was surprised to see Yoplait now had a Greek yogurt. I also seem to remember some other brands that seemed to sprout Greek yogurt options as well.

I could not bring myself to buy the Yoplait Greek “Yogurt” on principle. I actually ended up just buying store brand plain yogurt, with the intent to sweeten it with honey. Call me crazy, but, after reviewing the nutrition data online, I didn’t even see any active yogurt cultures on the Yoplait Greek label.

Cut to a few days later and the Huffington Post has an article on the unfolding drama involving Chobani Greek yogurt calling foul on the Yoplait Greek “Yogurt:”

General Mills, which produces yogurt brand Yoplait, is the target of a new lawsuit that alleges its Greek yogurt product isn’t actually Greek or yogurt. The suit, filed by a Chicago resident, points at General Mills’ use of a thickener called “milk protein concentrate,” which is made by filtering skim milk to remove non-protein elements.

So, I guess I am a purist in some respects. I do think we have to have standards of some sort on those foods that have a history and should be held to a certain standard. I mean, peanut butter has a standard as does mayonnaise and champagne. I definitely think Greek yogurt is one of those foods, that, if possible, we should try to seek out the  “authentic” products as opposed to the Frankenfood versions (look out for milk protein concentrates.) It’s reminiscent of the “fake fiber” i.e inulin,  that keeps showing up in so many products, making foods allegedly high in fiber. I can’t keep track. But, to date, these fake fibers don’t demonstrate the same health benefits as those that are more naturally derived.

My recommendation, read your labels. A huge list of ingredients on any processed food is a bad sign.

