Basil Artichoke Hummus

Okay, I realize that Sriracha is more of a condiment and hummus is more of a spread/dip, but, my foodie antennae are telling me that this delicious healthy dip is on the verge of, if not already, having its moment, big time! It’s definitely been a staple in my diet for years. I also highly recommend it as a delicious healthy snack or spread.

I made a quickie version tonight with my new Cuisinart, rest in peace Krups speedy pro :-(, you will be missed…

Asparagus Basil Hummus with Cashew Butter

Ingredients

! can garbanzo beans – Rinsed

Juice of 1 lemon (I used a Meyer, it’s a little bit sweeter)

1/4 cup olive oil

1 clove garlic (browned)

5 spears asparagus

Handful of fresh basil

1 tablespoon cashew butter (replacement for tahini)

Salt and pepper to taste

Lemon zest (optional)

Paprika (optional)

Method

1- Combine all ingredients in food processor and pulverize until chickpeas are roughly chopped.

2- Slowly drizzle olive oil into ingredients while simultaneously grinding mixture

3- Taste the hummus. Add salt, pepper, more lemon juice if necessary and process until desired consistency is desired.

4- Sprinkle with smoked paprika

 

Incidentally, I’ve had several posts dedicated to hummus:

Homemade Hummus, Best Hummus Ever, A Lemon By Any Other Name

